top of page
Search

Tuesday's Times Round Table : 03/03/2020 "Do you speak My language? You Should" New York Times

Updated: Mar 6, 2020

My first time attending to round table was for the "Do You Speak My Language ? You Should" was fantastic. This presentation opened my eyes. I personally believe that being bilingual has opened many doors, as an immigrant I had to learn english at the age of 13 and even thought it seemed like a challenge, I believe it helped me grow personally.

By learning about the program that FIU offers and other programs the Spanish Council also offers to students it helped me understand what language entitles, not only is a form of communication but it carries culture, history and customs. One specific fact that it stood out for me after hearing the discussion and speeches that each individual shared, was the finding of people who is fluent and capable to speak more than two languages has a lower possibility of suffering from Alzheimers. I was also proud to hear that there are schools in Miami Dade that make a requirement for students to be fluent in more than one language.





bottom of page